The Boots that got Stuck

95af43cf-0fd4-4b0e-81a4-78039116d6fb
Amy went to Primark a few weeks ago which is always a dangerous move! If I go with her which I didn’t on that occasion I can at least keep the damage to a minimum.  Unfortunately Amy went into Primark while I was in another shop and by the time I saw her it was too late, the damage had been done.

Anyway Amy produced a pair of  brown boots with elastic bits at the top. My first comment apparently was  ” They’ll  tear in a few weeks!”  To be fair they looked quite nice and were very comfortable apparently (Amy’s thoughts); mine were less generous being more bothered about cost, quality and whether they are hard wearing; to be fair, looking nice is also important!

Anyway today we were in M&S where they had a sale on. Amy announced that her brown boots from Primark had broken. The elastic part had torn!  I believe I was very generous spirited and didn’t say “I told you so!” Then Amy found a pair she liked in M&S which were in the 50% off sale.  She produced them when I was at the food part of the shop checkout, and it was at this point I persuaded her to try them on before she handed over her hard earned money. Amy disappeared and I found her in the shoe section pulling rather tightly fitted boots onto her feet. Once on they did indeed look nice and were very comfortable,  and I suggested we went and paid for them.

Amy managed with a little struggle to get the right boot off, but then the problem started! The left boot was not amenable to leaving her foot. Due to her stroke Amy’s left side is less moveable and her foot was not being cooperative! Slowly Amy’s face went more and more red and I could see the panic appearing on her face. The struggle between Amy, her foot and the boot increased and it hit me as being funny that we might have to buy the boots because one couldn’t be removed and I started to laugh as I decided to help pull them off! After much effort they came off and I left Amy who was still saying that she liked them.  When I got to the door Amy caught up and I asked if she had got them?

The response was that the boot had made her panic and I hadn’t helped by laughing which meant she couldn’t take it off!!  So I hate to say it but Primark seems to have won the day as the boots from there have not made me laugh or Amy panic and can still just about be worn.  Better still we had a mum and daughter laugh about it all! One last thought  at least if Amy has a similar problem with a Primark boot there will be no panic as she can easily tear it off! 

3 comments

  1. Oh my the boot saga I’ve had one of those lol! I was in Tesco once looking for some riding boots and they had some nice ones in the sale and mum got me to try them on and I did and they went on fine but mum had gone off to look at something else whilst I tried these on. Like Amy my left side is weaker than my right so right one came off fine but the left one there was no hope I was getting that off and I was panicking, mum returned 10 mins later to find I had one boot on and one boot off! She was laughing and I was angry and told her it wasn’t funny and she needs to help me so she heaved and pulled and shook and I pulled my leg the other direction and finally another 10 or so mins later it finally came off I was so relieved but was certainly not gonna by those boots!

Leave a Reply

